My First How To: Kim Kardashian Nude Look for Darker Skintones

I think it’s about time I start posting some looks and ‘How To’ blogs.

But first a serious kudos to the Facebook models, BBM posers and self picture takers.  The whole taking pictures of yourself thing was holding me back all this time. It ain’t no easy job! Getting the light, expression and angle right is an art. And there is the unnerving fact that these images highlight idiosyncrasies in your expressions and features that you may not have noticed before. For example, I noticed that my eyeballs are slightly off. Yes my eyeballs. I am slightly cross eyed I think. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s true.

The Kim Kardashian Nude Look for Medium to Dark Skin Tones

This is my version of the Kim Kardashian Nude look, inspired by the Belle Du Jour Nars Lipstick that she adores. I thought I was too dark to sport it, but I was wrong! Yeh! When going nude I like to bring out my other features like my eyes and cheeks. You can do as many or as few of the steps below, i.e. wear just the nude lips vs. the entire look.

When Kim wears this looks, she usually goes for peachy cheeks and dramatic eyes. I choose to wear it with a more pinky cheek and less dramatic eyes. We both highlight and contour. Kim is known for the light concealer, under the eye look, and the look has grown on me too.

The Base

1. I applied Armani Face Fabric Foundation, 5, all over my face, followed by M.A.C. Select Cover Up in NC45 on my eyelids and above mouth to neutralize darkness.

3.  I get rid of my under eye circles with Vasanti, Wonders of the World Concealer in O2.  I applied the darker shade around my eyes and blended it outwards extending a little past the circles. The key is to make sure you don’t create a distinction between your under eye circles and the skin around it.

4. The lighter shade of the Vasanti, Wonder of the World Concealer, was used to create a highlight. I dabbed and blended it along the inner corner of my eye and extended it half way under my eye blending it out. I also lightly applied it along the length of nose, in the center. I set my under eyes with M.A.C. Studiofix Foundation Powder in NC43.

5. I contoured my cheeks using M.A.C.’s Sculpting Powder in Shadowy, and brushed M.A.C.’s Powder Blush in Fleur Power on the apples of cheeks to create shape and color.

The Eyes

6. I applied a pinky gold eyeshadow, Urban Decay’s, Chopper, all over my lid and NARS, Galapogus in my crease. M.A.C.’s Smolder went on my water line and Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Eyeliner went on my top lash line to really bring out the eyes.

The Lips

7. LIP TIME! Make sure your lips are hydrated and exfoliate any flaky skin. Nudes bring out everything! I don’t use liners on my lips unless it’s to create staying power. So I just applied Belle Du Jour all over my lips, blotted and reapplied.

I then applied NARS Lipgloss in Sand Piper. Kim, however, usually uses NARS Lipgloss Turkish Delight.

Below Image: Belle Du Jour Lipstick and Sand Piper Lipgloss(L), Belle Du Jour Lipstick Only (R)

Now If the color is too light or your lips are uneven in color, line your lips first all over with a similar color to Belle Du Jour or something darker like M.A.C. Pencil in Spice.

If you have any questions on how to customize this look, just ask me!

XOXO,

Shobana

Comments

  1. You look gorgeous hun 🙂

  2. Very helpful. This look is very pretty.

Leave a Reply

